qualify for the program
The Public Service Commission of Utah is a government agency that regulates utilities. It has been established, through statute, that the Commission administer funds that provide assistance to qualified individuals who require hearing assistive devices. The legislature has established the following qualifications for people who are eligible to receive assistance from the Commission.
Individuals must qualify for some type of Public Assistance Program. Valid programs are:
- Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC)
- Emergency Work Program
- Food Stamps
- General Assistance - (single couples or married couples without dependant children who are
unable to work because of a short or long-term disabling condition)
- Home Energy Assistance Target Program (HEAT)
- Refugee Assistance
- Lifeline - Medical alert service
- Supplemental Security Income or Social Security Disbility Income
- Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF)
- Word Toward Employment
- Federal Public Housing Assistance including Section 8 Housing
- National Free School Lunch Program
- Head Start Program
Individuals must be at 200% of poverty level established for 2013 and meet the disability definitions.
Updated May 8, 2013
|Family Size||200% Annually||200% Monthly|
|Each Additional Person||$8,040||$670|
In order for individuals to qualify for phone equipment under Commission standards, they must meet the disability definitions.
Deaf: A hearing loss that requires use of a TDD or TTY to communicate effectively on the telephone.
Deaf-Blind: A hearing loss and a visual impairment that requires use of a TDD, TTY, or Large Visual Display (LVD) to communication effectively on the telephone.
Severely Hearing Impaired: A hearing loss that requires the use of an assistive device to communicate effectively on the telephone.
Severely Speech Impaired: A speech impediment that renders speech on an ordinary telephone unintelligible.
In order to have your application reviewed by the Commission, you will need to:
1. Download and complete the Relay Utah Application If you are under 18 years of age, a parent or legal guardian must also sign the form.
2. Page 3 of the form must be signed by a qualified person (any person permitted to practice medicine in the State of Utah.)
Audiologist: An individual who has a Masters or Doctoral degree in Audiology, and a Certificate of Clinical Competence in Audiology from the American Speech/Language/Hearing AssociationSpeech Language Pathologist: An individual who has a Masters or Doctoral degree in c. Speech/Language Pathology and a Certificate of Clinical Competence issued by the American Speech/Language/Hearing Association
Qualified State Agency Employee: Any state agency which serves the applicant and which can obtain professional documentation of the disability.
Medical Doctor - Any person permitted to practice medicine in the State of Utah
Hearing Instrument Specialist - Completed all courses approved by ASHA and certified by tthe National Board for Certification of Hearing Instrument Sciences
3. Mail the application to the Commission:
Public Service Commission +/+++
c/o Relay Utah
160 East 300 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0585
Upon approval of application form, applicant will be notified of the date, time for equipment delivery and the required training. A parent or legal guardian must accompany the applicant to sign for equipment if 18 years of age or younger.
Rule Change 746-343 - Approval of an Application